CHAPTER II.—CONSTITUTION AND GOVERNMENT

CONSPECTUS

	PAGE		PAGE
Part I.—Constitution of Canada	42	Part III.—Administrative Functions of the Federal Government	74
Part II.—Machinery of Government	45		14
Section 1. The Federal Govern-	40	SECTION 1. DEPARTMENTS, BOARDS,	
	45	Commissions, etc	74
Subsection 1. The Executive	45	SECTION 2. CROWN CORPORATIONS	79
Subsection 2. The Legislature	45	SECTION 3. ACTS ADMINISTERED BY	
Subsection 3. The Judiciary	45	FEDERAL DEPARTMENTS	86
SECTION 2. PROVINCIAL AND TERRI-	10	I BDERNE DEL NEIBERIS	00
TORIAL GOVERNMENTS	55	Part IV.—The Civil Service of Canada.	90
Subsection I. Newfoundland	57	Tartiv The Olvin Bervice of Gallada.	90
Subsection 2. Prince Edward Island.	57	Part VCanada's External Relations	99
Subsection 3. Nova Scotia	59		99
Subsection 4. New Brunswick	60	Section 1. Diplomatic Representa-	
		TION AS AT APR. 30, 1953	99
Subsection 5. Quebec	61	SECTION 2. INTERNATIONAL ACTIVITIES.	103
Subsection 6. Ontario	62		100
Subsection 7. Manitoba	64	Subsection 1. Canada and Common-	
Subsection 8. Saskatchewan	65	wealth Relations, 1950-53	103
Subsection 9. Alberta	66	Subsection 2. Canada and the United	
Subsection 10. British Columbia	67	Nations	108
Subsection 11. Yukon and Northwest		Subsection 3. Canada and the North	
Territories	68		110
SECTION 3. MUNICIPAL GOVERNMENT	69	Atlantic Treaty	112
SECTION 4. FEDERAL AND PROVINCIAL		Subsection 4. Canada and the Colombo	
ROYAL COMMISSIONS	73	Plan	116

Note.—The interpretation of the symbols used in the tables throughout the Year Book will be found facing p. 1 of this volume.

PART I.—CONSTITUTION OF CANADA

The Canadian federal state was established by the British North America Act, 1867, which united the three British North American provinces of Canada, New Brunswick and Nova Scotia into one country, divided into four provinces, namely, Ontario, Quebec, New Brunswick and Nova Scotia. British Columbia entered the Union in 1871 and Prince Edward Island in 1873. The Provinces of Manitoba, Saskatchewan and Alberta were created out of portions of the territories formerly held by the Hudson's Bay Company and admitted to the Union in 1870, and Newfoundland entered the Union in 1949. At the present time, therefore, Canada consists of ten provinces and the remaining territories, not included in any province, now known as the Yukon Territory and the Northwest Territories.

The British North America Act of 1867 divided legislative and executive authority between Canada on the one hand and the provinces on the other. Judicial authority was not similarly divided, provincial and federal courts having jurisdiction with respect to both federal and provincial laws.

While the British North America Act of 1867 together with its subsequent amendments is popularly regarded as the Constitution of Canada, it is not an exhaustive statement of the laws and rules by which Canada is governed. The Constitution of Canada in its broadest sense includes other statutes of the United Kingdom Parliament (e.g., the Statute of Westminster, 1931), statutes of the Parliament of Canada relating to such matters as the succession to the Throne, the demise of the Crown, the Governor General, the Senate, the House of Commons, electoral